Lemon and Chocolate

Friday afternoon I got this crazy, totally inspired idea to make lemon cake for a dinner we were having with some old friends on Saturday.   Seemed like a great idea, until I read through the recipe Friday evening and got to the last page which said “refrigerate overnight or for 12 hours before serving.”   Darn, so much for my typical Friday night date with Netflix.  Instead I was making angel food cake, lemon curd, meringue, etc…..    OK, now the moment of truth.  It  Was  So  Good.  Not sure I’d make it again, but totally worth the effort.   Light and fluffy and lemony.  Super yum.

IMG_0859IMG_0857

Sometime Saturday afternoon when the cake was all assembled and chilling, I had another crazy, inspired idea to round out all that lemon with some chocolate.  I looked to my cupboard for inspiration, and there it was, on the back of the can of Hershey’s cocoa.  Oh my goodness, these were so good and so easy!  I had everything in my kitchen already.  Would totally, absolutely, without a doubt make these again.  By the way, there are a few leftover if you’re in the neighborhood and want to stop by for one.  They go great with a cup of coffee.  Sort of like a deconstructed mocha.

IMG_0861IMG_0864

You could probably guess after all that baking and dinner-ing and soccer game-ing, I did not get very far with menu planning for the week.  Here it is Sunday afternoon and I found some broccoli in the fridge, turkey breast, a jar of roasted red peppers, goat cheese, and bread in the freezer.  Sounds like it’s panini for dinner tonight (yes, it’s a repeat for you regular readers, you  know I love panini because everyone can make their own to suit their tastes).   With steamed broccoli and a big green salad too.

Other ideas for the week:

– Maybe I’ll try to make YakiSoba noodles.  Isabel loves them and has been asking.

– Burritos with barbacoa, lettuce, avocados, salsa, cheese….

– I was thinking about these black bean burgers the other day and remembering how much I liked the flavors.   Serve with big green salad (fresh from the garden now!).

– Pasta or tortellini with tomato sauce – cook Italian sausage (the butcher at Whole Foods will let you buy it in bulk, out of the casing) and add tomatoes and simmer.  Because look what we found on the discount shelf at Safeway yesterday!  Cans and cans of organic tomatoes!  50% off!  SCORE!!!

IMG_0860

Have a great week everyone!

xo  M.

Lemon and Chocolate

3 thoughts on “Lemon and Chocolate

Leave a Reply

