I’m not cooking this week…. but I am eating

My in-laws are visiting this week, and they know their way around a kitchen.  I get a “pass” from cooking dinner when they are in town.  They spoil us with excellent dinners (and they fill our wine cabinet too).  No complaining here!

So, here’s what we’ve been eating:

My dad and his wife came over for dinner on Saturday too.  We BBQ’ed one of our all-time favorites Tuscan brick chicken, and threw some fish on the grill while the chicken rested.  Served it with a farro salad of roasted vegetables and feta with lemon/olive oil dressing, and of course a big green salad with tomatoes and avocados, green onions and radishes.   For dessert, I somehow ended up with the lemon and chocolate theme again.  I made these awesome berry tarts with lemon curd, and Julia Child’s chocolate mousse.

On Sunday, Alex used the leftover barbacoa beef and grilled chicken for enchiladas (red sauce for the beef and tomatillo sauce for the chicken).  Seriously, when was the last time you had enchiladas?  He set up an assembly line with the kids and was done in no time.  SO GOOD!!!  Cheater’s note – use the Hatch brand enchilada sauce.  It’s the best.  Served with rice, black beans and green salad.

Last night we had arroz con pollo, Colombian style.  I thought I knew how to make arroz con pollo (I’ll post that soon), but this was new to me.  SO GOOD!!!  Love the website, too.  I’ll be sure to get some more ideas from there in the next few weeks.

Tonight we are having chicken cacciatore, which I haven’t cooked in AGES, so I’m excited to eat these flavors again.  Served with linguine and steamed green beans.

Oh, there was also a night when we had steak and salt-crusted potatoes, and salad.  Love a good steak and potato dinner.  I don’t think that’s the exact recipe that was used, but you certainly can’t go wrong with Alice Waters!

I don’t know what’s in store for the rest of the week.  I have some sweet potatoes in the drawer so I was thinking more farro with sweet potatoes.  I’ll keep you posted.

Have a great week everyone.  xo M.

P.S.  For some reason I can’t get photos to upload tonight.  I’ll catch up after I watch the tutorial on how to blog with photos….

I’m not cooking this week…. but I am eating

One thought on “I’m not cooking this week…. but I am eating

Leave a Reply

