Weeknights at the grocery store

This week started out pretty good – the lamb kibbe with yogurt sauce was fantastic (I used 1 pound ground lamb and 1 pound ground beef); the chocolate cake looked great (I overbaked it so it was a little dry, but the brandy in the ganache made up for that flaw); the blueberry pie was soupy but it was the most beautiful pie I’ve ever made (egg yolk and heavy cream brushed on the crust before baking did the trick!).

lamb cake pie\

Three nights this week I did something I hate to do (and the reason I write this blog is to prevent myself and you from doing it)…  I went to the grocery store to pick up something for dinner on the way home from work.  We ate well, but I really dislike those weekday trips to the store.  One night was BBQ chicken with fresh corn and tomato salad, another night was linguine with red peppers and leftover chicken, then grilled Italian sausages with leftover linguine and salad.  I just couldn’t seem to get my act together to plan ahead.

Last night we had hamburgers with baked beans and stuff (arugula, avocado, tomatoes, bacon, blue cheese).  Here’s what Alex’s finished product looked like:

hamburgerA

And here’s my hamburger plate:

hamburgerM

Notice a difference?  🙂

It’s a holiday weekend coming up, so I’ll be sure to get some good food planning, shopping and eating in.  I’ll keep you posted.

xo M.

Weeknights at the grocery store

Leave a Reply

