Cooking in Fits and Starts

Do you ever read something and think, “Wow, how did they know that about me?!”  DALS did it to me this week with Cooking When You Don’t Feel Like Cooking.  Seriously, from the pizza bagels and scrambled eggs one week to miso tuna and jambalaya the next.  I haven’t read the full Atlantic article yet, but it looks good.  Add it to my Someday File.

This weekend I had fun baking with a virtual group of friends for The Bitten Word’s Holiday Cookie Challenge.  I was assigned Gingered Sugar Cookies.  Yum, I don’t think you can go very wrong when you mix ginger and sugar cookies.  Mine came out alright… I’d make again but not handle the dough so much and skip the braiding and shaping.  I also made Bourbon Bow Ties for a friend who wanted to do the baking challenge but couldn’t.  Hmm, let me just say if you want a fried cookie, stick with a beignet or churro and save the bourbon and vanilla bean for something better.

IMG_2285IMG_2283

What I really want to be cooking this week: lamb meatballs, wild mushroom galette, caramel blondies, Israeli couscous with butternut and preserved lemon, fried eggplant with chickpeas, potato cavatelli….  Instead, I asked the kids (you know, the ones who stare longingly into the fridge and say “There’s nothing to eat in here“) to come up with a menu for the week.  I have to say, it’s not too bad:

  • twice baked potatoes, broccoli, steak
  • hamburgers with blue cheese and bacon
  • lemon-herb roasted chicken, sweet potato fries, peas
  • tortellini with meat sauce, green beans
  • enchiladas, rice and beans, romaine salad
  • potato and corn chowder
  • ground turkey or chicken tacos

Now, I’m off to unpack these bins and create a winter wonderland in the living room.  Or,  maybe I’ll just drink the leftover bourbon and leave the decorating to the elves.  xo M.

FullSizeRender 3

Cooking in Fits and Starts

Leave a Reply

