Poolside menu planning

IMG_3533Menu planning was not really a hardship this weekend.  I sat poolside on a perfectly sunny day, catching up on a pile of cooking magazines while the kids swam.   Have I mentioned how much I love summertime?

  • Cobb Salad.  I love this salad because you can offer a variety of protein and flavor add-ins.  We used the last of the greens from the garden for ours.  How sad for now, but there’ll be more in the fall!
  • BBQ ribs, corn on the cob, watermelon with mint.  Not because I want to have my oven on all day, but because it’s a great rub recipe and I can throw them in a low oven at noon, then finish on the grill with BBQ sauce at 5 and be done for the day!
  • Salmon nicoise salad.  Another great salad idea.  Start with lettuce and top with Mediterranean flavors this time.
  • Steak and wedge salad.  Found some flat iron steak at WFM last weekend.  Super cheap and super tasty!  This week I went with grass fed sirloin.
  • Roast chicken, maybe with some brown rice and broccoli.
  • Green chile-turkey burgers.
  • Fattoush and lamb kebabs with mint lemonade.

John is traveling in Greece right now.  I love that the first (and only) picture I get  from him is a bakery window.  My kids know me so well….

Have a great week everyone!  xo M.

Poolside menu planning

Leave a Reply

